Turbine Transition

RtrCFI

Greetings

I am beginning my turbine transition for the AS350 and want to develop my understanding of turbine engines, as well as any advanced systems that may apply to the helicopter. Any suggestions?

Yep. Try to be facing into the wind on startup.

Other than that, I got nuthin' :lol:

suck, squeeze, bang, blow..... easy as that. why do ppl PAY for turbine transitions? a lot of money for a few hours that really dont make a difference?

Ft. Rucker is hiring CFIs at 500 hours. Free turbine time, over $60k anually, and i believe they send you through a good training course. I haven't looked into it too extensively, but I'm definitely considering it once I hit my 500.

As far as texts, get a POH or military -10 or engine manual for a turbine aircraft (preferably the one youre going to be operating). I'm a UH-60 mechanic and that's been the primary source of my knowledge. Also helps if you have a friend that's experienced and can show you the ropes.

J-

Edited by Justin DBC

Justin,

The LSI option there are Rucker would certainly be a sweet gig, good money, less hours, nothing but turbine time... but no matter how you cut it, it's in Alabama. Ha. I make fun of it, but it's really not that bad. You better be on your game if you are going to apply at 500 hours, I'm not trying to scare you by any means, but the average flight time for an IP out there in something like 6,000 hours.

the LSI IP schedule... 3.0 Flight hours everyday, M-F, Approx 6 hour Duty Day. Not friggin' bad.

1bad, even though there isn't a BANG like one would think in a piston engine, there still is combustion...

CHAD

Justin,