When to go to school

auto360

Been a while since I posted. In 4 more months I'll have the money for school and then some.($80,000+) Wow, finally after all these years. But now here is my "problem" if you want to call it that. A few months ago I was transfered to Iraq from Qatar and my salary jumped a fair amount. I'm a contractor. Contract goes up for renewal in July. Even if its lost I still stand a good chance of staying employed here but no guarantee. I'm making a little over 100K and debt free(except house). Note: Not bragging..anyone can do what I'm doing. Anyway, come July, I'm set as far as money goes but while making this kind of money I have another option. Stay another year and I can pay my house off. ($86,000) and maybe avoid the poor economy in the states. Right now I rent it out which pays the mortgage. If it was paid for that would be $800 profit a month. This way I could go to school with no real money worries. I'm 34 an anxious to go to school but to think of having the house paid for in a year sounds good also plus have the money to pay for school and live on.

I'm pretty sure I would go out and try to find a part time job such as finding something that interest me like selling motorcycles or Kayaks or cleaning port-a-johns LOL. After visiting many schools I like Glacier Aviation the most so far...plus there is a Cabellas up there in Olympia that maybe I could work at.

So, stay a year past this July and pay the house off or leave this July and start school?

Matt

Flight school's going to be there for a while and will be there when you're ready to fly! There's no real rush. I'd pay the house off while you have the means to, because when you start out flying you probably won't be making anywhere NEAR that amount.

Just my 2 cents.

Goodluck!