Altitude Insight

TimW68

Since I started training I've observed quite a few low flying helicopters that were clipping along at a decent speed maybe 300-500ft agl. These were primarily EMS ships and they were not on approach, just level flight. Question is, what advantage is there to flying that low? I can see the obvious such as avoidance of controlled airspace and fixed wing traffic in general, but I don't otherwise see why this is done.

2 things come to thought....

one, bouncing from here to there in a helicopter is usually short distance...(less than 25 miles) and flying at a higher altitude doesn't offer any speed advantage as it would in a fixed wing aircraft. climb=time

two, the people looking out the window feel like they're going real fast when they're down low.

Ditto the first couple answers.

My number ONE reason for flying low is to try to avoid FW traffic. Flying along Malibu last month at 300 AGL, I had a FW at 12 o clock come at me flying 100 agl over the water. ...guess I wasnt low enough to get under him ! Of course, not monitoring the low altitude frequency.

2 weeks later flying thru Malibu Canyon, again about 300 AGL and looking at shining the power lines under me, FW at 12 o clock shows up, this time, 100 feet above me. And again, not monitoring the low altitude frequency.

Climb time is true, but also airspace. We fly under FW altitudes all the time at the direction of ATC. Under Class B, low level transitions, etc, that REQUIRE us to be low. Class B transition along the beach near LAX REQUIRES flight at 150 AGL or below.

And this is where speed can be your friend. I would rather be 100 knots at 150 and lose an engine, than 45 knots at 150 feet. At least with the extra speed I can explore a larger area for an auto. Besides, time is money. Most of us try to get to point X as quickly as possible.

Goldy

Ditto the first couple answers.