Fenestron

DakarNick

Hi everyone. I went to Rotors of the Rockies yesterday at BJC since I had never been and wanted to see their hangar and aircraft. This was the first time I had seen an EC120 Colibri. Theirs is very nice!

What caught my attention is the fenestron. Not the 120's specifically, but fenestrons in general. Does anyone know what kind of CFM these produce? I know it depends on engine power output, wind conditions, effectiveness, etc. To me it just seems small, of course it does it's job.

I know the helicopter only has around 500 hp, how much of that is used for the fenestron?

Thanks

The blade area of an EC130 Fenestron is actualy more than what you get on an Astar. Hard to believe I know. However, the Astar tailrotor is more effective than a Fenestron. Then the Fenestron is also much more quiet and safer as well.

I studied this a little bit for the JAA ATPL(H). It seems that quite a significant amount of the thrust of the fenestron comes from the shape of the shroud heading into the blades and coming out. The shape of the shroud supplies a kind of venturi effect which increases the efficiency of the fan blades.

That's actually how they word it in some of their questions. Take from that what you will. Although most of what the JAA says doesn't hold much water with me cause they're a big bunch of bureaucrats. I've caught them out being wrong on several fundamental things in the past.

The shroud also reduces loss of lift at the tips of the blades due to vortices increasing induced drag. That's what I think the FAA focus more on in their books. I don't know which gives the greater effect.

Yeah, I can't see any time in the near future a fenestron chopper competing with a AS350 for tail rotor authority at higher elevations.