Hey guys i am currently 18 years old and have been accepted as a student to Embry-Riddle university. i have done a lot and a lot of research and have contacted many flight schools. So my question is should I go to ER and get a degree in Aeronautical Science and also attend a local flight school to get my ratings? What do you guys suggest I do ? do i even need a degree? I really want to get a degree and experience the college life though. So i guess basically what did you guys do ? probably through army huh? or what advice so you have for me......

Thank you very much for your time!!!!

Ross C.

What part of the aviation industry do you want to work in? Airlines, Corporate, Military, ???

I graduated from ERAU in '95 from the Daytona campus with a BS in Aero. Sci.

ERAU is primarily an airline focused training school. While it may have changed, there was no RW flying there when I was a student. So if you are interested in a RW EMS career you may need to look elsewhere for your training and career start.

As an alum I have to tell you that the best thing you can do is to 'diversify' yourself. While I loved the material I learned there, I really wish I had gained another skill besides flying. Maybe getting the Maintenance Management (with A&P) and flown outside of Riddle. Or even a Business degree and flown outside of Riddle. Either way I would have been able to move away from the cockpit if needed.

You may find yourself unable to fly some day or worse; you may get furloughed and not have a fall back paycheck. Riddle is good at what they do but it will be more expensive than elsewhere. ERAU is and always will be a business first and foremost. You get a good education at ERAU but you can save money and get just as good flight training anywhere with a good CFI.

Also, can you enroll in the Aero Sci degree program and fly outside of Riddle? When I was there they made us fly there to credit the ratings to the degree.