Flight schools

It seems like all the schools in central Ca are closing or slowing way down. I am just wondering how all of yours are doing?

Rotors seems to be busy as usual, and as a student i hate it.. :-) i used to be able to pick what color of R44 i wanted to fly.. now days i have to schedule in advance.

Seems that Elite at Centennial is doing well too, keeping busy as usual.

Don't know much about the other schools in the area, except that they are out there when i fly so i know they are hanging in there.

i am expecting to see the slow down in a few months tho... the financing issue is sure to make a dent.

aloha,

dp

Training is a smaller portion of our operations, but training is still keeping us busy. If anything we are seeing more interest lately than in the last couple of years. I think that the increase in our numbers could be because of the closing of our only local competitor.

My school is way down. I don't even think my CFI has flown since I got my add-on rating. It's a shocker for them since I flew around 3 times a week and gave them $15k in 4 months. I am going back to get my Commercial rating and instrument of they get a IFR Helicopter, which they don't have. In the meantime I bought me a Cessna 182 to get my Comm/Instrument in then just do the Helicopter add-on ratings for them as well. Much cheaper that way.

I hope everyone running a school can survive this latest economic issue. I was going through all of my flight school links the other day and was shocked on how many of them no longer existed! I think the larger and financially strong schools will hang around and survive, but I feel sorry for the small operations.