ERAU vs conventional flight training

I'm very interested in getting my PPL and hopefully go through Commercial and CFI/CFII. I am in the Atlanta area and have been looking into where and how to start. I've read over the FAQ section (Thanks for all the helpful info there) and started looking at schools. ERAU has a "Worldwide" campus here very close to me and I was wondering if that would be a better way to go vs some of the regular flight schools. I know ERAU provides an opportunity for more finiancial aid options.

Background info:

I have a wife and 6 kids (everyone needs a hobby) and a house. I am currently in the IT field but am looking for a change. I would like to make a career of flying, but am trying to enter into this 'smart'. I would have to finance training and start at 0 hours. I know that some suggest the pay as you go route.

Any info and/or opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

I am a graduate of ERAU Worldwide with the BS Pro Aero degree. The ERAU Worldwide programs are tailored to those with existing aviation experience although it is not mandatory. If you don’t have a pilot’s certificate, an A&P, or military experience you can make up those credits with coursework. I think they will award up to 30 credit hours depending on your experience. Does ERAU have an agreement with a flight school in Atlanta? Anyway, I'm looking forward to graduate school at the Daytona Beach campus in the fall.

Edited by Tom22

This is going to hurt but....don't do it. Keep your day job. A wife, 6 kids, and a home morgate. This sounds more like a mid-life crisis than a well thought out career choice. The life of a helicopter student in training, the life of a heli cfi(if you can even get a job as a cfi) the life of a 1500 hour pilot are all very challenging, and not even remotely conducive to your situation.