How do you deal with a stuck cyclic...??

Aussie

G'day,

I'm brand new here and hope you guys can help me.

I'm a student pilot here in Sydney learning in an R22 Beta 2. I have about 35 hours logged so far and am working through emergency procedures with my CFI before going solo sometime fairly soon. My CFI believes in covering every emergency thoroughly before letting his students solo, so my last lesson on dealing with a stuck collective was challenging and exhilarating - it also left me feeling somewhat "car sick"!! I was interested to read past posts on that topic and the range of solutions offered. Next lesson we touch on stuck cyclic and I've been asked by the CFI to give him my thoughts on what we could do about it if it occurred. I'd be very glad to hear anyone's thoughts.

Cheers!

Depends on where it is stuck. If it is stuck in a cruise position, just lower the collective and make a high speed approach to a run on landing. You don't want to autorotate, because you won't be able to flare. If it is stuck right or left and you are stuck rolling, you can move passengers around or equipment if possible to reduce or eliminate the turn. A wrecked helicopter in your future is likely, but you will probably walk away. Ty and keep it as level and straight as possible wit a nice smooth descent. No sudden movements. Land in a large bail of straw:)

In reality, with a stuck cyclic you're going to crash, probably inverted. I don't see the point of this exercise, since the likelihood is so remote, and the chances of recovery are nil. An immediate auto is the only possibility in most cases, unless you're very, very close to being able to land. A stiff cyclic is another story, but a completely stuck cyclic is going to have a catastrophic ending. Holding the cyclic to simulate it, and moving it enough to stay upright is not the same thing.

Actually, it is surprisingly easy to control the R22 with a "stuck cyclic" by using the secondary effects of controls.