Quality of life for a family.

Okard

Hello everyone, my name is Garrett, I am 18 years old and am very intrested in becoming a Helicopter pilot.

I live in the Texas D/FW area and have a few flight schools around me. I have been doing alot of research in to this and am very excited. I'm in a very good position to begin this career, I live at home and can do so for the next few years to save money, my parents will support me till I am done with my training so i can train full time.

Problem is I keep reading posts from professional pilots talking, they make sound like if I am lucky enough to get a job I might be able to make enough money to own a small shack even if I have a few years of experience and it's really only worth it if your passion is flying.

I am a very big family man, I'm sure I want a wife and kids in the coming years so how well would I really be able to support a family? Will I be home enough to see them? I would think working as a Helicopter pilot at a local place wouldn't cause me to be gone all the time.

Will I make enough money to support them without living pay check to pay check just to afford the simple things? I would love to fly but not if it means my family would struggle.

Any information (even if harsh) will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

-Garrett.

First things first, before you start down this road, make sure you are going to have access to all the money required to finish. I didn't say have all the money, just make sure that you will be able to consecutively train for your ratings. Nothing was more difficult than seeing my students going full tilt and then having to stop because they ran out of funds. Take whatever number the flight school tells you and add 20%. After all is said and done, everyone ends up spending more in the long run.