Distance Education

Hi all,

I'm a 26 year old who is very commited to making the right choices for a career in flying. The school I'm planning to attend is a part 61 and I need to be able to get some financial assistance, also I would like to have as broad a knowledge base in aviation as possible to be marketable. I am new to the aviation world and I would like to totally immerse myself. On the other hand, both programs that I am aware of are out of state so the cost would be more than getting an unrelated degree from a local (Lake Tahoe, Ca.) school.

-Has anyone out there gotten a degree from these online programs and was it a good experience?

-How did financing work out and did you have a good chunk left over for flight training after tuition?

-What is the view in the industry of these schools (Embry Riddle and Utah Valley University) and what kind of benefits will a degree from one have versus the other in the job market?

-Are there similar programs out there that you would recommend?

I hope this is not too specific as this is my first post, I've been a lurker for a while. I really appreciate anyone sharing their experience.

HKing.

I can't answer all your questions but I can give you some info. I am currently a student at UVU nearing graduation. First, in my opinion you can't go wrong with a degree. I can't speak to the industry feeling for any school in particular, or even for a degree in general, but it can't hurt. There are only a few jobs that require a degree currently, however that may begin to expand. Especially with the increasing popularity of degree programs and integrated degrees in flight training (i.e. College of the Sequoias).