SFAR 73 Question...

Hi,

First let me introduce myself, My name is Ryan and I am a newly certified private pilot. :D That kind of sounds like something from an AA meeting. I have lurked this forum for quite some time, anyway onto my question:

I received my training in the Hughes 269C, and I am trying to budget out my instrument rating in an R22/44 but I am having a tough time deciphering SFAR 73 and my question is, does SFAR 73 require me to have ten hours of "SFAR 73" training meaning I should budget an extra 10 hours of dual in order to fulfill the requirement or can some of that training be overlapped with the instrument training?

Thanks

Hi,

First let me introduce myself, My name is Ryan and I am a newly certified private pilot. :D That kind of sounds like something from an AA meeting. I have lurked this forum for quite some time, anyway onto my question:

I received my training in the Hughes 269C, and I am trying to budget out my instrument rating in an R22/44 but I am having a tough time deciphering SFAR 73 and my question is, does SFAR 73 require me to have ten hours of "SFAR 73" training meaning I should budget an extra 10 hours of dual in order to fulfill the requirement or can some of that training be overlapped with the instrument training?

Thanks

In theory your SFAR 73 training and your instrument training could be done somewhat concurrently. Remember, SFAR 73 flight training is for:

A) Enhanced training in autorotation procedures,

(B) Engine rotor RPM control without the use of the governor,

© Low rotor RPM recognition and recovery, and

(D) Effects of low G maneuvers and proper recovery procedures.

The only item on that list that is likely to take any considerable time is autos. If you have only done autos in a 269, it will take some time to get used to them in an R22 or R44.

Other items could be done just prior to putting the hood on for an instrument training flight, so would not add much to your flight time.