AUTOROTATIONS???????

Hello Vertical Reference,

Let me introduce myself. I am a fixed wing pilot, but was referred here from JetCareers.com. I am doing a speech for my COM class explaining how an autorotation works. Could someone help me out and give me simple explanation, a detailed scientific explanation, and how I should explain it to a group of non-aviators? I am pretty sure I know how it works, but I would like somebody who flies a helicopter to let me know. I plan on using a video to show how it works, but I need to actually explain the workings. Thanks in advance for all the help.

This isn't perfect, but it covers the aerodynamics okay. Simply, the upward airflow through the rotor system keeps the blades spinning and produces some lift.

Not so simply, the rotational relative wind varies along the length of the blade. Near the hub (the inboard portion), the rRW is slow and essentially the blade is stalled (high drag, low lift). At the tip, the rRW is high, resulting in high lift (but also high drag). The total reaction is inclined aft, so this region produces lift but acts to slow the rotation of the rotor. Somewhere in between is the "driving region", where the rRW strikes at an angle that produces lift with little drag, and at an angle that inclines the total reaction forward. This region produces lift, but, more importantly, keeps the rotor spinning.

How should you explain it to non-aviators? "Magic". Or get one of those spinny helicopter toys [link].

Autorotation_v0_0.png