PIC SFAR Requirements for R44 ATP Check ride

Fat Kiwi

Hello all,

Im an unemployed helicopter pilot with 0 hours experience in recip helicopters. There is an R44 that I can use for my ATP check ride, but will a DPE allow me to use this for the ATP check ride without the minimums per the SFAR? (I think its 15 hours of dual).

My other options are to try find a 206b to rent for the check ride or go to a school and pay the $$$

Any advice?

You are acting as PIC during the checkride. If you are not qualified to act as PIC of a R-44,

I would have to say no. I would say it would be cheaper to do it in a 300, but by the time you

get up to speed on it, you will probably have spent about the same as if you rented a 206.

You probably will have to travel to find someone that will do instruction in a 206, though. I know

Bristow does. It was $875 an hour years ago.

Hello all,

Im an unemployed helicopter pilot with 0 hours experience in recip helicopters. There is an R44 that I can use for my ATP check ride, but will a DPE allow me to use this for the ATP check ride without the minimums per the SFAR? (I think its 15 hours of dual).

My other options are to try find a 206b to rent for the check ride or go to a school and pay the $$$

Any advice?

Contact Tim Bradley and see what he would recommend. He might be able to organize a DPE for you but you will have to ask Tim how to best handle the situation including PIC etc..

Tim Bradley

Helicopter Solutions Inc.

tbradley1@charter.net

828-298-4246

Cost for the B206-B2 is $475/hr. Includes Helicopter, Fuel, CFI (Tim).

Cheers

Rotorrodent

With enough time for an ATP, why don't you try to find a job in a turbine? Then your employer may let you use one of his helicopters for the checkride, at least at a discounted rate?

As an unemployed pilot myself, I envy this problem.

Edited by r22butters