Ideas Please!

Kandace

I recently got my Commercial Helicopter Certificate! I'm also working on getting my Heli CFI.

I have about 87 hours of Heli time. I've been a Sport Pilot CFI for the last couple of years (I teach in J-3's) and have about 1200 hours of TT.

I'm in need of ideas to help me build my helicopter time up. I did all of my training in an R-22. I also have my R-44 PIC endorsement.

So my question is what sort of things have worked for you!

I really appreciate all ideas.

Thank you,

Kandace

Your biggest problem is lack of helicopter time. Unless the school you got your CFI hires you, you will need 200 hours helicopter minimum to get hired. Most schools want 300 to 500 hours helicopter time for any instructor they hire from the outside. Your fixed wing time counts for very little. And at the present time there are a large number of helicopter CFI's out there looking for work.

As for Boatpix.com, it is not as much of a good deal as they make it out as. If you are taking pictures, you can not legally log the flight time. They used to charge $100/hr. The last time I talked with them, it was $100/hr plus you paid for the fuel. Which brings the rate closer to $150/hr. And you have little control over where and when you fly. If you check through websites like this one and barnstormers.com, you can find better deals and you can do pretty much what you want. Within reason.

I recently got my Commercial Helicopter Certificate! I'm also working on getting my Heli CFI.

Unfortunately, you still need to get to 200 heli time if you want to instruct in a 22.

Your biggest problem is lack of helicopter time. Unless the school you got your CFI hires you, you will need 200 hours helicopter minimum to get hired.

Am I the only one seeing this? He's not looking for a full time job, he is looking for commercial work to build time, not CFI work.