First Flight

As per Lindsey's request:

I had my first flight today, not counting an intro flight I went on a few years back, and it was AWESOME. I guess we didn't do anything spectacular, it's just SO much better than riding in the back of an airplane, which is what I've been doing for the past 6 years. I remember having "perma-grin" on my intro flight, and I was a little surprised that I still had it this morning. I've always wanted to fly helicopters since I read "Chicken Hawk" in middle school, granted I'm not flying a Huey into hot LZ's or even able to hover, but I still think being at the controls in straight level flight @1500AGL&65kts is the most exciting/fun thing I've ever done. I can't wait until tomorrow.

Oh my God, Chicken Hawk is an AMAZING book. Nonfiction! I have a bunch of those from the Vietnam era written by Army Aviators about their experience. Chicken Hawk, Dustoff, Firebirds, Taking Fire, etc. You should look into those! Check out your local library's online catalogue.

Fun to hear of your first experience!

@1500AGL&65kts is the most exciting/fun thing I've ever done.

Wow, I dont think I've ever flown at 1500 AGL, and I'm not kidding. Guess I'm the low flying type.

Goldy

I remember early on going to 3000'AGL in an R22(doors off). My instructor wanted me to see how the helicopter acted OGE high up. It was pretty wierd, I almost didn't want to look down. :o Of course at that altitude 30kts feels like a hover. Since then the highest I've been in the R22 is about 5,500' AGL, but that was at night, and so its really hard to tell. :rolleyes:

As per Lindsey's request: