I am having a hard time finding financing for flight school.

Ok, recently I decided to go to flight school and get all of my ratings up to cfII. Its been my dream to do this for as long as I can remember. I settled on a school and am now having a hard time finding financing.

I dont have a co-signer and am kind of at a loss. Does anybody know about scholarships or grants. I heard of a program that some companies do where if you sign a contract with them they will pay your way through the school. Furthermore I am a veteran, I have the GI Bill, my credit history is flawless. If anyone can help I would greatly appreciate. Thanks.

you and everyone else my friend

go get a private license on your own and then regroup

seriously, gi bill won't pay zero, zilch, nada for a private rating

you will then have to find a va approved 141 school and come up with the 40%

so I assume you want a loan for the private and the 40% unfortuneatly the choices are extremely limited and the interest rate is very high and the biggest reason they want a co-signer is in case you die ! AOPA has financing and so does Pilot Finance

only other option is to go to the post 911 bill and go to a university that will give you an aviation degree along with the flight training.

Edited by Rogue

What age are you?

My 2cents worth: Use your GI bill for Education - something like a Bus. degree. The time will come when you will need it to advance. Fly as a hobby or passion for a few years. Find a job to support your flying.

Thank you for your service to our country