Easiest Way to Return to Flying After 14 Years

EW64

I am trying to get my foot in the door of a flying job and my question is what is the easiest method for me to do so - is there a pilot job out there anywhere in the world that is the least desirable and therefore easiest to get hired?

A bit about me, I'm a former Army Pilot/Instructor Pilot with 1600+ hours but I've been away from aviation for 14 years other than renting one on occasion. I'd appreciate any insight and advice any of you can give.

Been there, did that... Well, not for 14 years. But anyhow, the first thing to do is get a current physical. Then, I'd recommend getting back in the saddle with a CFI aboard, buy some time stirring the stick. There was a time when some of "the biggies" would interview for personality, fly to verify claimed experience and could then economically bring a guy current. I doubt that's so now. Never hurts to ask before you drop a grand or two, but...

You'll probably get back in the swing pretty quick, especially if you were a scout pilot and have some single pilot experience. Rumor is that some pilots separate from the service these days having never, ever been the entire flight crew. The civilian world would be major culture shock.

Start networking. This seems to be a tough time in the helo world, and that started before the recession. A rather large flight school operator folded, dumping a bunch of pilots into a shallower pool. There's a lot of talent available right now.

The good news is networking leads are easier to find in the internet age.