Hiring heli students?

heliav8t

I just thought i would stir up some talk. some might think its a stupid idea but some might think it makes sense.

When a student goes to there flight school why do larger heli companies not go through some of the students and offer to pay for there school? They could have the student sign a contract stating that when they graduate they will go straight to them so that the company can teach the student to fly and represent there company just like they want. It would be a large capital but in the long run, wouldnt it do the company good so that they do not have to wait for just the right pilot and be out flying, making money? i am new to the industry and have just been wondering.

I think, to answer your question, the phrase "Why buy the cow when you can get the milk for free?" comes to mind.

It would be nice if companies would pay for certificates, and some will, but for the majority of the companies, there are stacks of qualified resumes on their desks. I could imagine that if the pool of pilots goes away, then what you talk about might be a little bit more common.

Just my two cents though.

I would sign a contract just to get that job without anything in return, so companies really have no incentive to spend money on my training.

I wish companies would group together and own flight schools to forge a better link, and maybe then some of what you are proposing might occur.

I would think that if the company wanted to pay for your training, they would train you themselves. Why pay for flight school when the company could have you completely familiar with their helicopters and operations. If they did the training when they were getting paid for the flights, it would be win win.