noob, need opinions, price and location doesn't matter

Hi everyone,

I am new to this whole industry and looking to start my pilot career. I'm currently in Ohio but the VA is going to pick up the bill so price and location doesn't matter. Obviously everyone can say that their school is the best but I'm looking for some convincing testimonials. This is going to be a huge step in my life and I will be away from my girlfriend and daughter for a while so I want the best training that is possible. So far I am interested in a couple schools: Quantum Helicopters in AZ, All American Helicopters in TX, Rotors of the Rockies in CO, and Alyeska Helicopters in AK. My biggest concerns at this point are not getting caught up in a pilot factory. I want to know that the instructors are passionate about passing down knowledge and not just building time. I would also like to get some good mountain training. This wouldn't be really important at first but it would play into my long term goals. Ok, so if you could pick any school in the country which would it be and why? Thank you all for your time.

You might look down the runway from Rotors of the Rockies and check out Colorado Heli Ops. I've never trained there, never spent a dime. But I know a few of the folks who work there and they are most assuredly top-notch.

All American is a good school too, but if I had it to do all over again, I would have trained at altitude. The simple fact is you'll be operating closer to the performance limits of the helicopter and you'll learn how to fly at those margins, which is where you'll be most of your professional life. You'll learn weather first hand in an environment where it can change very quickly on you.

The folks I know up at Colorado aren't building time. They don't seem to be a pilot factory. I've steered a few folks up that direction and they all seem to love it.