Helicopter Simulator

Hi,

I am new to helicopters and would like to get a simulator to use at home while I do my certificates. I will be training in R22 and R44s.

1. What is the most realistic flight simulator out there? (I was thinking of getting the Microsoft flight simulator x)

2. What would be good to get for controls that would make the simulation more realistic? (I don't mind spending up to the $300US for this.

Thanks in advance.

Greg

If you search this, the JH forum, and PPRUNE, you'll get the whole range of opinions, but for the most part, none of them are that great for learning the basic controls (IFR procedures are a different story). I've tried the helicopter models on several of the MS FS versions (including X), and I think they're awful. For IFR, you can get by just fine with the Cessna or Mooney IFR panels in MS 2004 and a rumblepad.

Start working on your ground school--your flying will soon outpace your ground, and this bites most guys' butts when their flight skills are check-ride ready, but they still have ground to get through.

If you're committed to the simulator route, contact Whistlerpilot (?). He's used it before for his students.

MS Flight Sim X is kind of neat as far as learning the general radio calls in controlled airspace, but I would avoid flying any of their helicopters like the plague. Go fly around in a basic VFR airplane, or load up an F-18 and have a blast. It's just not suitable for really learning the controls on a helicopter.

I beg to differ. I used Microsoft's FS2004 while I was working on my helicopter rating and found it very useful. I highly recommend you head over to Hovercontrol.com.

I built my own controls so I had a separate collective, anti-torque pedals and cyclic stick. I modified the R-22 config file to have much touchier controls and used it to help me learn to hover as well as fly around.

I strongly believe that it helped me a great deal.

Kandace

I agree with Kandace...