1972 Scorpion II

Hello,

I have recently come into ownership of a 1972 Scorpion II helicopter. This helicopter has 18 hours of airtime, my uncle was unable to put it up much after he bought it. I do not know much about this aircraft. It seems well built, but I am taking it to a mechanic in order to make sure. What can I expect with this? Is it airworthy? Is there a certain type of license I need to fly it? If I were sell this, what can I expect to sell it for? Any help would truly be appreciated. I am new to helicopter world, and I think I may like to take up flying now that I have an aircraft. Thank you

what engine does it have? anything less then the RW-145 will be under powered,if it has the cable head, good luck. I have had several Scorpion projects last one had a RW-162 engine in it. was nothing but a money pit.

if you search around you may find some upgrade parts. best plan if you can get the cash is to convert it to the Exec style rotor system.

Join the Rotorway owners Group. and or Contact Homer Bell, he is a Rotorway expert and has a big helicopter fly-in at his farm each year in Ohio.

good luck.

also you may want to do a post on the rotarywing forum at www.rotaryforum.com there are a few on there rebuilding Scorpions.

Good Luck, I just restored a Helicom Commuter H-1B helicopter.

above all be careful, do NOT try and fly it or even hover it with out proper training.

and yes you will need a Helicopter Lic. to legally fly it.

What can I expect with this? Is it airworthy?

You will get a lot of different answers to those questions all based on the background of the pilots answering. I owe my helicopter fascination to the early Rotorway ads of the Scorpion and other kits using outboard boat engines (1969).

That said, my opinion of the Scorpion is similar to other early designs. I would love to have one given to me so I can put it in my garage and look at it from time to time. You could not pay me enough to ever fly the thing.