Guest Maximinious

18 members have voted

1. 1. ...

I have NO direct experience.

However, having been on the hiring panels for former military pilots, I would be shocked if they get over 1000 a year.

Most I interviewed had around 1500 after a four years. The fixed wing pilots had a little more.

I'm sure you will get a good idea from others with direct knowledge.

edspilot

Maximinious:

Not having direct knowledge:

No, to my knowledge there is no way to "work-a-deal" with the army to get more flight time.

Quite frankly, the Army will not care that you have all "ratings." In the past they viewed a lot of civilian experience (flight time) as a lot of bad habits to break in their training program and not worth the effort.

also, no special treatment that I know of.

Again, hopefully others here can offer more inside knowledge.

edspilot

Lol...thats only 333 hours a year of flight time! I would need at least 600-700 hours a year if I signed up for the 6 year commitment required by warrant officers. Looks like I am staying a civilian heli pilot.

If you're just doing it for the hours then you are doing it for the wrong reasons anyway.

Can you not see how heloidaho came to that conclusion?

Send FLHooker a PM. He's National Guard but might have a good guesstimate for Chinooks.

• Like 1

Also, keep in mind that while hours are important...so are the TYPE of hours, I'd imagine. Consider how many of those hours are NVG, low-level, high altitude, combat, long-line (depending on your aircraft), etc.

Just something to consider.

• Like 1

It's never really easy to tell someone how many flight hours you'll get. It depends on all too many factors; the airframe, the unit, the state(for national guard), the list goes on.