Confined area takeoff

I received my helicopter rating in an R22 last October. My instructor taught me to do my confined area takeoffs as in this video. I just made this video this morning in my Helicyle....clearing those 70 foot tall trees 200 feet away. I was taught to use as much room as I have of course...lift off and pull max manifold and establish and angle that clears the trees by a little bit. My instructor and I flew this exact flight in the R22 loaded to near gross..flew the same angle but it was a lot slower getting out of there.

Question to anyone. I had another instructor see this video....and he told me that he would take off vertically till I was at treetop height...then go horizonantally and transition through TL and depart that way. I told him if I had done that on my checkride...I bet I would have failed. So, I am a fledgling pilot wanting to know your opinions on if you would do it the way I did it in my video, or would you go vertical like the other instuctor told me. I know I am toast either way with an engine out...but the instructor advising me against the way I did it says I would at least crash in the clearing without eating trees.

Stan

I was doing my BFR with Jerry Trimble earlier this year and did a MPTO just like I was taught: go from the surface, straight straight straigh up until clear the obstacle, then nose over and go. As I was announcing my intentions ("...15V, vertical takeoff from 21...") Jerry laughed "Optimist!" When I was done, he went through a demo of the difference in power that it takes if you just go vertical (my way), vs if you use any little bit of forward movement. I can't remember numbers, but we needed much less power to climb vertically if we had any forward movement (not even ETL).