My deepest thanks to the members of this forum...

Hey there, VR community - I'm Ryan, and I'd like to say two things: hello, and thank you.

Granted, you don't know me from the next guy, but I've been lurking around here for a long time as an unregistered guest, and this particular subforum has been a favorite haunt of mine. It's only recently that I registered myself, and this is my first time speaking up... but here's my story.

I finally got myself squared away enough to go down and speak with the Army about the WOFT program in October of last year, and throughout the entire process the discussions on this board (and a few of the regular threads over on military.com) have been an unimaginably awesome source of information and aid.

Fast forward to the present: I got "the call" this morning informing me that I've been selected for WOFT by the (Civilian) USAREC board which met today. Frankly, I'm still in a state of mild shock and the full impact has yet to hit, but one of my first thoughts was that a huge THANK YOU to this community was in order.

Huge gratitude in particular go to Lindsay, zVo, akscott60, SBuzzkill, JMcDonald, and rmiller for both the quantity and quality of your contributions here - I can say without hesitation that your collective information and musings were an essential element in my attempts at this goal. And anyone else I've missed, too; as I've been lurked I have come to realize that this forum, more than many others on the great wide web, has come to embody a spirit of friendly assistance and cordial, reasoned debate and discourse which are sadly lacking in the greater society we live in.