Military to civilian job advice

Hey all, new member here looking for a litle advice on a possible transition from army to civ helo pilot.

A little background info on me, I'm a CH-47D/F instructor pilot with almost 7 years in the army and I'm 26 years old. I have about one year until my obligation is up, and I'm able to leave active duty. I'm about to leave on my third tour to Afghanistan, and Ive had quite enough of it. I'd like to get out ASAP and continue to fly helicopters. When I get out I should have approx:

1800TT

1000PIC (500 IP)

350 NVG

30 Night

75-100 (Hood/WX/Sim)

I have extensive sling load and mountain flying experience.

I have some leadership experience as an air mission commander and flight briefing officer.

I have graduated and instructed at high altitude and power management courses.

I was a high school to flight school guy so I dont have any college or legitimate work experience outside the army.

I'm just trying to figure out if I will have a legitimate shot at a decent job out the gate or shortly after, and where I should be looking. Also is there anything I can do to give myself more or better options. I would be willing to work anywhere in the US, but would prefer Texas.

Any help or input would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

CW2 Jeff Coats

• Like 1

Hey all, new member here looking for a litle advice on a possible transition from army to civ helo pilot.

A little background info on me, I'm a CH-47D/F instructor pilot with almost 7 years in the army and I'm 26 years old. I have about one year until my obligation is up, and I'm able to leave active duty. I'm about to leave on my third tour to Afghanistan, and Ive had quite enough of it. I'd like to get out ASAP and continue to fly helicopters. When I get out I should have approx:

1800TT

1000PIC (500 IP)

350 NVG

30 Night

75-100 (Hood/WX/Sim)

I have extensive sling load and mountain flying experience.