Practice autos in the R-22- trouble with the throttle

Hello all,

I'm a student helo pilot with about 25 hours in the R-22. I've practiced a lot of autos and have managed to make my entry to manuever fairly consistent, I'm having trouble with the powered recovery phase. To be specific, I tend to over-speed the engine during the baby flare part of the maneuver because I just don't have a feel for how much to roll the throttle to get the governer to kick in. This results in me rolling it too far, which induces a big yaw. Question: after the auto entry, where do you hold the throttle? Fully in the detent and then hold it there, or do you move it to the detent and then relax the grip?

Thanks in advance!

We,ve all had this problem at one point or another. Just hold the throttle against the stop (no need to go into the detent spring). In the flare, (or just as you level out, it depends on your CFI), just give the throttle a little jerk to get it to about 80%, the governor will take it from there.

If you want, you can practice this while you're on the ground. With the throttle at idle, simply test how much roll it takes to just get it to 80-85%.

B)

First things first, if you are overspeeding then your instructor isn't doing his/her job.

A good way to learn proper throttle control is to practice pickups and setsowns with the governor off. This is good for managing the sensitivity, also good for low rpm recovery.

Another reason my students try to overspeed is when they are rolling the throttle on, and a general lack of patience.

The part of the flare (before, during, after) has a lot to do with the torque.

And, it takes a bit for the engine to ramp up, so if a person rolls throttle on until the rpm is in the green, that person has already added too much throttle. As butters said, roll it up until the governor picks up, then wait for a second for the engine to come up to the green.

Good luck

• Like 1