A/C options for corporate opperations.

Roondog

Some of you might hate me for what I'm about to post, but in all seriousness, any advice, opinions and experience would be greatly appreciated.

It appears that I will be going to work for a company, in sales. Upon learning that I am a pilot, they have offered to pay for all additional training with a contract that states that I would become thier pilot.

If/when this happens, I will be charged with all responsibilities from purchasing/ leasing an A/C, to daily and mission operations and all else involved. Here in lies my dilema. I never in a million years expected this to happen, and at this point, had not considered a career as a coprporate pilot. Therefore, I have little if no knowledge about what this entails. That is the reason that I begin my due diligence here.

I do know what type of A/C I would consider based on the geographical areas that I would be opperating ( B-407, L-4, AS 350B3), securring a place to house the A/C and the service centers that are available. I would like to hear it all, from everyone here that has some insight. One question that I would like answered, is it best to buy or lease based on the needs, of which I'm not sure of at this point? What would the reasonable amount of use need to be to justify purchasing vs leasing? I'm sure I will respond with many more questions. Thank you for your time and input on this matter. J

Edited by Roondog
  • Like 2

You haven't said what the "extra qualifications" would be - is it an upgrade from private to commercial? From singles to twins? Do you have thousands of hours experience that would give the company's executive the peace of mind to sit in the aircraft with you?

Has the company really thought this through, because it sounds like you are worried that you really don't have a clue what to do?

A bit more info, please, so we can give you some reasoned advice.

Cheers,

Eric