Taller pilots, advice with landings?

Im in my first semester of private, 3 flights done, 1 1/2 practicing landings. I'm 6' 2 1/2", I find it difficult to get a good sight picture to know when to start an approach. My instructor says when the LZ is in line with the bottom of the compass, he starts. I always come up 5-10' shy of the LZ. Any advice on what to look for when starting the approach? This is in an R44 Raven II btw.

Im in my first semester of private, 3 flights done, 1 1/2 practicing landings. I'm 6' 2 1/2", I find it difficult to get a good sight picture to know when to start an approach. My instructor says when the LZ is in line with the bottom of the compass, he starts. I always come up 5-10' shy of the LZ. Any advice on what to look for when starting the approach? This is in an R44 Raven II btw.

Ahh, a short guy. Everyone's perspective is going to be different. Your problem coming up 10 feet short is not because of your height, or your sight picture. Quite frankly, it's because you are a brand new pilot just getting the feel for the ship.

An R44 is easy to make some slight adjustments along the way in. If you feel like you're coming up short again, just add a touch of power to carry you to the pad. I think you're just being too critical of yourself at too early of your training stage.

Of course, just my opinion. Maybe others, more demanding of perfection in your first 4 or 5 hours will have a different opinion!

As far as tips, just draw a mental line between you and your desired landing spot. Slide down that line at a smooth even descent. Especially helpful when you start doing some more advanced manuevers.

Fly safe,

Goldy

Edited by Goldy
  • Like 1

While sitting on the ground, extend your left arm straight ahead, with your thumb holding your little finger, i.e. you have three fingers horizontal at arm's length in front of your face.