Possible Schools - $$ and other questions

Hi Everyone,

Looks like a great supportive community here.

I'm taking my demo flight tomorrow at Northeast Helicopters, which is closest to where I currently live. I have no prior experience with helicopters.

It seems a lot of schools have excellent reputations, but I'm really confused by the drastic cost and time-frame differences between them.

For example, I spoke with Rhonda at Northeast for a long while (nice lady). She said it takes 12-18 months to complete the PPL(h), and there average cost is somewhere around $70K.

A friend of mine turned me on to Tomlinson Aviation in Florida. I spoke with the owner himself, Neal Tomlison at length (also sounds like a great guy).

He told me that in 4-6 months of full time work I could have the CPII, and I'd be spending around $50K.

I just got off the phone with a guy at Guidance, in Arizona. He told me around 2 years for the CPII, and between $95,000 - $105,000!

Wha? It sounds like some of this added expense is that they only have an instrument rating in the R44. Could this be?

This begs the questions: why would anyone pay $100K and take 2 years when they can get the same thing for $50K in 4 months?

So far Tomlinson really sounds like the win to me, but I'm sure there are other considerations aside from cost. Such as, how important is it to train in the mountains?

Also, Guidance has over 100 students at any given time on average and can't possibly employ them all as instructors. Apparently 93% of them are placed into other instructing positions.

Tomlinson sounds like a 10 student operation, with lots of one-on-one.

For me at this point in my life (30 years old), if I go for this, it will be all-in, full-out get it done as quickly as I possibly can and for the least amount of cost.

Thoughts?

Thanks to all.

*edited: meant to type "CFIi," not CPIi.

Quick answer to only a few of your questions (the most obvious ones):