Ipad for student pilots

Does anyone have any input on 16gb vs. 32gb?

16Gb is pretty big unless you think you'll ever use Foreflight on that bad boy, if so go with the 32Gb as the entire Foreflight database is massive. You could use only small sections of the database to support the small area you fly in, but 32Gb is recommended for someone intending on using the whole thing. That will also leave you with plenty of room for other stuff like videos and music. Whether or not you go with the 4g model(extra $130) to support navigation during flight is entirely up to you. Foreflight talk you through the benefits of that on their site. I'm not sure how big the database is for the Garmin equivalent to Foreflight, maybe someone else here has that info.

I use the 64Gb. But then I use it for a lot of other things as well. As an instructor I have copies of the training manuals, course outlines, PTS, some good training videos and so on. Personally I looked at foreflight as well as Garmin and went with the Garmin.

As for a GPS receiver, I would strongly suggest going with the Dual Electronics GPS receiver. It has an app that shows you how good your signal is and your exact coordinants. There are other places to get it besides Sporty's. I went through Amazon

I dont think id be getting the 4g, I cant afford a monthly data plan and i am not a fan of paying for limited data usage. No reason why cellular companies did away with unlimited plans.

That's sarcasm, right? Humor? They did that because it's an easier way to improve the bottom line than competing for customers- people will complain and pay...

I'm an old guy but I appreciate the tons of information available in the digital age. But that ease that seems permanent can be a crutch at best, or set a trap with incomplete understanding or erroneous data. While you're learning how to do this with computers, learn (and teach) how to do it without them.