Faults found on preflight

nightsta1ker

We all know that these machines cannot be "perfectly" maintained and kept in an immaculate condition all the time. In fact, there are some real pigs out there, particularly in the flight training world. Ever found that nick in the tail rotor, or the corroded hardware, or a small crack in a drive belt? I'm sure you all have at some point, it happens. And most of the time we let it slide if we deem it not to be serious. On several occasions I have had instructors and mechanics shrug a fault off with a "naw, that's fine!" or a "it's been like that forever, if it gets any worse we'll fix it". Where do you draw the line? At what point does a fault become unacceptable? Now that I am an instructor, I find myself doing a lot of that. I know the helicopter, I know what's wrong with it. I have my book of "pocket red x's" as we called them in the Army. And I shrug my student's pre flight findings off all the time with a "It'll hold together" (maybe with a mental "at least until the next inspection" added on to it). Is this a hazardous attitude to develop? Or is this just experience kicking in? I am not wont to ground an aircraft because of a 1/64 in. Chip on the corner of a tail rotor blade (unless there is an accompanying crack). Tail rotor blades are expensive, and replacing it will likely lead to another chip just as soon as I do an off field landing. But what if I'm missing something? What if there's a crack under the paint? At what point does writing off faults become foolish and unsafe? In a perfect world, we would fix everything we find wrong. In reality, we have to walk a line. How do we pass good judgement and experience on to students without grounding the aircraft every other flight?

Thoughts?