Hi, I'd like to apologize in advance if I'm using this forum incorrectly. I don't use these boards a lot and am unfamiliar with how things work. I am a civilian pilot (fixed-wing) and just finishing up my Master's degree. I would like to apply to WOFT. I've been speaking with a recruiter, and he seems to think I have a great shot at getting in because of my experience, education, and prior service. My question is two-part: 1) What are the Army's current procedures of assigning aircraft to flight students? I've heard that students take a test, which then matches his/her personality and aptitude to a specific aircraft, but I've also heard that it is strictly by "Order of Merit." And 2) Could I be forced into Apaches if I don't want them? The reason I ask is because although I love both the military and flying, I don't know that I have an "aggressive" enough personality to fly Apaches, and the focus for this airframe seems to be just as much on weapons as on aviation. I'd really like either UH60s or CH47s. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks in advance.

Aircraft selection is based on your position on the OML and needs of the Army.

Your OML is a score based on academic average, 5 checkride scores, your BOLC grade, and your selection PT test. The majority of the points are from checkrides and academics, but PT is a decider as well.

Yes, you can be "forced" to fly anything in the Army. Its called needs of the Army.

Selection is simple. Everyone is in a room at Bco. On a white board is written the aircraft models and hashmarks for each that is available. LTs go first, then the list is repopulated and the WOJGs go.

A cadre member calls your name off of a list in OML order. You state what you want (from the board) and then they erase a hashmark. Next. Thats it. After everyone selects or gets told what they are flying, then they call your name off again for your top three post selection.