Questions about using GI Bill

Hello I'm currently in the marine corps and have 8 more months of active duty. I'm very interested in becoming a roter wing pilot. I've spent a lot of time as a passenger while in the military and love the ride. I have some questions hopefully you guys can answer.

1. Using my post 9/11 bill and going threw a program that allows me use my benefits at the end of the program how many flights hrs roughly should I have?

2. Any schools in Florida anyone can recommend, I'm a resident of florida and do not think I can afford out of state tuition.

3. Any recommendations for someone using the GI bill?

• Like 1

1. I can't speak for other programs, but the program I just started (less than a month ago) will leave you with, I think, 200-225 hours. Takes two years (or less if you go to school through the summer and stay focused) and also grants you an associate's degree.

2. Not sure about Florida schools, but if you have 100% of the Post 9/11 GI Bill, maintain a full-time schedule (12 credits typically), and are going to a public school (not private, like Embry Riddle), than the cost of the the classroom tuition is largely irrelevant. In other words, the VA will be the one writing the check for tuition, not you.

3. There are several schools out there doing helicopter flight training on the GI Bill. I searched for a very long time, made lots of phone calls, read lots of forum posts, etc, and chose the school that I felt would do the best job of setting me up to be not just a helicopter pilot, but a hirable helicopter pilot.

Approach all schools skeptically. Some schools seemed to be designed to use up a lot of your GI Bill, while rending YOU as few services as possible. Other schools seemed to be designed to do the best by the student, and the GI Bill just happens to be a way to pay for it. Remember that in the process YOU are the customer.