Helicopter rental with commercial license

electron_si

Hey ive done some searching but i couldnt find specifics on what i was looking for.

I recently graduated from army flight school as a uh-60 pilot. I will have my commercial RW w/instrument rating on wed from the FAA. My uncle wants me to take him out flying one day and offered to pay for a rental. I have aprx 130 hrs and no solo time. I'd like to know what a good rental would be and if i need a medical exam to rent or if my signed army physical would work. Ive read somewhere it could be used as a class 2 but im not sure if i need more than that.

I think a local school rents 44's, are they pretty fun to go out and cruise around in? Would i be considered a student even though i am commercial rated? I just dont want to sound like an idiot when i call one of these places about wanting to take a passenger out. Im fine with going up with a CFI with us. Thanks for the help im pretty new to civilian aviation

• Like 2

FAR Part 61.23 - Medical Certificates: Requirements and Duration

(b ) Operations not requiring a medical certificate. A person is not required to hold a medical certificate—

(9) When a military pilot of the U.S. Armed Forces can show evidence of an up-to-date medical examination authorizing pilot flight status issued by the U.S. Armed Forces and—

(i) The flight does not require higher than a third-class medical certificate; and

(ii) The flight conducted is a domestic flight operation within U.S. airspace.

You would need to have a CFI on board in order to fly an R44 or R22 unless you meet the requirements listed in SFAR 73, which you don't. You could probably rent any other type helicopter after a school checkout. Sit down with your local school and see what your options are. Don't be afraid to ask questions. It doesn't make you look bad. Getting into something you are not informed about makes you look bad.