Astar ditched at Copacabana

jim_222

I'm no expert, but...

From the ambient noise in the microphone, it sounds like the wind is coming toward the beach right off the water. This would put the Astar in a left-crosswind condition as he honked it back into a hover. Yeah, I'll bet the low rotor light and horn were on!

It *looks* to me like the pilot realized it wasn't going to work out - max power? Starting to settle? Anyway, he apparently decided to nose it over and go for airspeed and get outta there. (Maybe you can tell what the rotor is doing from the video - slowing perhaps?) Only...he needed to trade off some altitude to get that airspeed, and he didn't have any altitude. He goes into the water cleanly, and (again) it *looks* like the highly-coned rotor is still up at 100% - at least, judging by the splash when the blades finally hit.

So, a "soft" crash-landing in relatively shallow warm water. Why then do they send yet another single-engine, non-float-equipped Astar to "rescue" them? And WHY do Brazilian men wear such skimpy bathing suits? Do they really think anyone wants to see that?

And while we're on the subject...me and my girlfriend went to Rio once. To fit in, I ditched my boardshorts and (against my better judgment) bought one of those little Speedo things. Hey, when in Rome...err, when in Rio... But I felt very, um, let's say "inadequate" walking around on the beach. People were pointing and snickering. Over dinner at a nice restaurant that night, my girlfriend, who was very sympathetic, suggested that I get a potato and put it in my bathing suit. So next day I did that and we go to the beach and I take off my over-shorts and, well, now people were pointing and laughing! I was, like, WTF-over! That's when my girlfriend leaned close to me and said, "Honey, next time maybe you should try putting it in the front."