Dynamic Rollover on Solo Consolidation (ALMOST)

Heli1223

Hi everyone, I thought sharing my story as a PPL student in South Africa on a R22 will emphasize the importance of training and flying with a 'what if' mindset.

I did my pre-flight, started the helicopter, did the run-up checks, called the tower for clearance to cross over the one runway on my way to the so called 'grass square'.

This is the only spot in the area with no grass at all and was our departure point for circuit flying. It was a small square and the surface was of the dark reddish kind of clay type. There was no slope and no bumps, just a flat and even surface - perfect for someone doing their solo consolidation.

My instructor and I flew a circuit or two to make sure I didn't forget what flying a circuit meant...

Then he jumped out, walked off to the front and commanded I picked the heli up, so as to see I hover like required...

I started lifting the collective slowly but confidently, trying to feel for the moment when I am going to start having control of the cyclic. I concentrated on the balancing as best as possible, because I knew dynamic rollover will not be a good start to my training and career...as well as to the instructor standing close enough for flying debris to have an effect on his health...

The 22 started lifting its nose, skids lifting in the front...

At this stage I feel it worth mentioning that it was in the raining season and the 'clay heli-pad' was moist enough for the skids to start digging into it...obviously one side more than the other...and obviously the left side more (left skid low in the 22).