Would You Feel Comfortable Flying This Helicopter?

I just wanted to see what everyone's thoughts were on flying a particular helicopter. I'm still new to everything and it would be great to fly brand new equipment, but I know that's not always the case or practical. I don't want to be overly cautious, as I've already developed that name for myself, but I don't want to let things slide that could be potentially hazardous.

It has had a thorough preflight and flies, which I know doesn't say much. In my gut it feels like the school just acquired an old used Buick, and who knows what the history is or what is lurking on the inside. Maybe the school and chief pilot know exactly where it came from and who they are dealing with, but I feel like this thing could have been oversped on on the daily and nobody would be the wiser.

I'd like to open the discussion and see what everyone thinks. Maybe I'm just being too picky for being a bottom rung student. I'm wide open to that, I just don't have enough experience to really feel out when something isn't right.

• Like 1

1) Engine gauges have an aged yellow coating over them.

Doesn't seem like an issue to me, as long as it doesn't effect the ability to read the gauges, and they still work properly.

2) Blade tips and leading edge have the paint wearing off, showing the silver metallic color.

How far back the leading edge strip are they worn? I'm not a Robbie tech, but usually, worn paint isn't an issue on the leading edge of rotor blades, actually normal depending on where the aircraft is operated, and what kind of aircraft it is, until it gets out of hand and/or reaches a certain point on the blade. Is it enough to expose the line where the leading edge strip meets the rest of the spar? I'd refer to the maintenance manual for that one.

3) Absolute bare bones avionics, with the previous owner saying the transponder can have "good and bad days".