WOFT vs. ARNG Aviation

Good evening everyone,

I am currently a sophomore in college and non-contracted cadet in Army ROTC. I am very interested in flying for the Army after college and had couple of questions regarding options. Looking at how I have done so far in college, I am pretty confident my GPA (I am aware this is not the only thing that counts) is not going to be high enough to get branched Aviation in the active Army.

One of the cadre members at my ROTC battalion is also a Operations officer at a National Guard aviation battalion and has been helping me look at different routes and helping me try to see what route is best. He has really made the idea of flying for the guard an attractive one, although not ideal, since I won't be flying full time. I am a management major and I'm pretty confident I would be able to find myself a full time job if I did wind up going the guard route. I understand that the guard hires technicians (but that they are mostly experienced WOs?). I also understand this route is not guaranteed.

The other route we have discussed is, at the conclusion of this semester, leave the ROTC program and try for the WOFT program once I graduate (everyone I have talked to agrees that having a college degree is a must). I understand from browsing other forums that this can be quite a lengthy process, but if flying is your true goal, it is well worth it. While the idea of flying full time is more attractive than the part time flying with the guard, this seems to be a bit more of a riskier option since there is really no certainty with it.

I have gotten just about all of my information from either the aviation officer or from reading forums, so if any of my information is incorrect, I apologize!

A little bit of information about me:

GPA: 3.46

APFT: 285 (as of a week ago at a ROTC pt test)

I have not taken the ASVAB or SIFT tests.