Flight Instructor

Okay fellow Aviators, I'm a new pilot. Well not even officially a pilot yet, I have to pass my check ride to get my private pilot certificate. My conundrum is should I request a different flight instructor for next semester or continue with the one I have. Here is a little back story, I am enrolled in a flight school that has a ~21 month program that takes you to CFII. I am in the final part of the second semester which is the stage check/ check ride for my private pilot cert. Last semester my instructor had around 1,000 hours in the AC we fly (r44), after I finished last semester my instructor moved out of state for a job in Alaska. This semester I have a new instructor, last semester was his first time acting as a CFI. So I am his 3 or fourth student ever. I am thinking of requesting a new CFI, not because I think my current FI is not knowledgable, but I feel he over controls the helicopter. It's like I have auto pilot most of the time. I'm not saying I fly perfectly or that I don't make mistakes, but it feels like my instructor senses what is happening before it happens and makes corrections before I have a chance to see/feel what's going and make my own inputs. It's frustrating to me because I'm not learning anything if he is flying. I have around 20 hours with him and I have told him that I need more time before he starts flying to recognize/ correct what I'm doing, but it seems he is still apprehensive to let me fly. He says I fly well, but I feel like I haven't progressed since last semester since every critical maneuver is mostly controlled by him. It sounds foolish to say, but I think he is too carefull or too "safe" to really learn from. I understand he doesn't want to die, but I have to learn what feels right, I have to do the maneuvers my self, I have to be confident that my decisions/inputs are correct to become a pilot. Or am I wrong? Anyways, any insight on how to overcome this, or the most professional way to request a new instruct