Damn it, I wish this was simple...

I am currently a 37 yr old Architect who really wants to fly. I'm growing tired of my profession and am considering a career change. I've done a few test flights, and flying in a helo is just about the coolest thing a person can do imo. Everytime I hear a chopper go by I run outside to check it out...I think I might be hooked. I just wanted to get some general feedback from everybody here!

Couple questions....If I make a career change to helo pilot, what do you think the chances are of dying in a helicopter related accident? (I've got 2 kids I don't really want to orphan!)

It's a helluva lot of money to invest up front to get a CFI and start flying, what does the income potential look like when you first start out? $8 /hr....$20/ hr ??

Seems like most people I've talked to still have other jobs to make ends meet.

Any replies are greatly appreciated!!

• Like 3

I am currently a 37 yr old Architect who really wants to fly. I'm growing tired of my profession and am considering a career change. I've done a few test flights, and flying in a helo is just about the coolest thing a person can do imo. Everytime I hear a chopper go by I run outside to check it out...I think I might be hooked. I just wanted to get some general feedback from everybody here!

Couple questions....If I make a career change to helo pilot, what do you think the chances are of dying in a helicopter related accident? (I've got 2 kids I don't really want to orphan!)

It's a helluva lot of money to invest up front to get a CFI and start flying, what does the income potential look like when you first start out? $8 /hr....$20/ hr ??

Seems like most people I've talked to still have other jobs to make ends meet.

Any replies are greatly appreciated!!

It is simple, if ya do it right……….