Safe or death wish?

cryesis

One of the instructors I know likes to do zero airspeed autos as well as pedal turns in the auto with PPL students. Do you guys think this is fine to do or is it a safety concern? I personally feel that it's an unnessacary risk that puts a lot of undue stress on the aircraft. However I am a low time pilot and it could just be that I am not comfortable doing maneuvers like that in the R-22. What do you guys think about it?

• Like 3

0 airspeed autos form how high? I think is inportant to do a few from 6-800' to teach you how to stabilze rpm, demonstrate how the horizontal will tip the nose on its own, get 60knots then turn it into a regular auto. I might go as low as 450 agl with a proficient student but not much lower.

Pedal turns in an auto? 0 airspeed? up high? I've never done it and dont see the need to but given sufficient altitude and RPM control it isnt going to hurt anything. He may just be trying to teach you that you can still fly it like a helicopter during autorotation, which is an inportant concept to get across.

Alot of guys treat the ship like a glider in auto.

• Like 3

One of the instructors I know likes to do zero airspeed autos as well as pedal turns in the auto with PPL students. Do you guys think this is fine to do or is it a safety concern? I personally feel that it's an unnessacary risk that puts a lot of undue stress on the aircraft. However I am a low time pilot and it could just be that I am not comfortable doing maneuvers like that in the R-22. What do you guys think about it?

What you describe is completely safe when done with a competent instructor. Then again, any maneuver in a helicopter would be unsafe when done by an incompetent instructor….. Eh?

Therefore yes, it’s fine and normally not a safety concern. In fact, IMO, it should be encouraged….

Furthermore, no, it does not put any “undue stress” on the machine. In fact, stabilized autorotation produces less stress on the machine……