That first turbine job -training

he_monkey

On average, how many hours do employers give to new employees to get the hang of a helicopter in the 1000 hour jobs (Temsco,Papillion, RLC)?

5....10...15? After how many hours will they say "No, you aren't picking it up fast enough, get lost.)

I love to fly and I'm a safe pilot and have never had an accident, but I'm concerned that I'm a slower learner (we can't all be an ace pilot) and I may need more than 5 or 10 hours before I can be cut loose in a brand new heli (and first time in a turbine) that I have no experience in.

Especially the transition from the light and touchy R22 to a EC130 like in the canyon.

thanks

• Like 3

My first turbine job was right out of flight school flying a Jet Ranger way way north in the Northwest Territories. The company had 5 hours flight time budgeted for training. If you weren't getting it by the 5 hours they wouldn't PPC you which meant you had an exclusively ground crew job. The training included full down auto's and stuck pedals (left and right) to the ground. It was expected that you knew every part of the machine before showing up. The training took a week including ground instruction, but it felt more like a very long exam. There were 13 online exams which had to be completed at home, they budgeted 40 hours but I took more like 80.

Flying the helicopter is the easiest part. My advice is study everything about the aircraft well before starting training. Get the flight manual, talk to other pilots, and find where you can go and get hands on with the machine. I swept many a hanger floor and cleaned the toilets at several different companies just so I could hang out and ask questions and actually touch the machines. Hard to learn a DI without the helicopter in front of you. It would be pretty intimidating to learn everything about all the systems and emergency procedures for a turbine helicopter without studying ahead in my opinion.