Helicopter Design - Idea Discussion

Dennis15221

I am not a pilot but I am an engineer. I've been thinking about designing a helicopter. One that is low cost, very easy to fly and safe.

Anyways, I would like to talk to some experts on helicopter design. Anyone want to explore some concepts?

I've been thinking about this for a long time(20 years) and I have an idea in my mind that I think will work. I'm not concerned about speed or ceiling at this time. I would much rather have a design that is very easy to fly, has a long range, low cost and maybe some good lifting abilities.

Dennis

• Like 1

What's interesting to me about helicopter design is that in comparison to fixed wing, helicopters are still in their infancy.

It seems like there should be another technological advance right around the corner that will be revolutionary in helo design. Maybe you are the right guy to come along at the right time.

Good luck with it.

Infancy? Maybe, don't know. I like what I see with the Sikorsky X2.

If I won the lottery, I might see my intended design come to life. The design I have in mind is similar to the Sikorsky X2. It uses fixed pitch coaxial rotors. I can't decide if the helicopter should be a hybrid(gas-generator feeding an electric motor) or a standard combustion engine.

Infancy? Maybe, don't know. I like what I see with the Sikorsky X2.

If I won the lottery, I might see my intended design come to life. The design I have in mind is similar to the Sikorsky X2. It uses fixed pitch coaxial rotors. I can't decide if the helicopter should be a hybrid(gas-generator feeding an electric motor) or a standard combustion engine.

I first saw the osprey concept in the early 80's. But that concept was no more than an updated version of a 50's innovation.

I also first saw the ABC in the early 80's. I saw that as only a slight improvement over the AH-56 concept that was Vietnam era.