R-22 massive overspeed

DRAGON-21

The school I go to had a massive overspeed on an R-22 and I was wondering if anyone has any ideas...

The governor was maintaining RPM in the green area after recovering form an auto, the heli was in a hover a few seconds after the auto, and BAM!!!!, the engine just started screaming. The instructor rolled off the throllte but it was too late...

What would cause the governer to go full throttle like this?

I have heard the magneto could be the issues but more specific, like, what in the magneto?

Can a cell phone confuse the electronics?

Thanks

• Like 2

I have no experience in Robinson products, but I have a lot of experience with human products. And in this case...call me skeptical.

"Massive overspeed?" So many questions! Were both pilots asleep? Does the governor work through the throttle linkage? Did nobody have their hand on it to stop the spool-up? I mean, I know things happen fast sometimes, but just how fast can a little 4-cylinder Lycoming accelerate an R-22 rotor system before an overspeed becomes "massive?" Did the nose yaw strongly to the right, and did the ship balloon upward? Can you get the same effect by snapping the throttle full-open at a hover?

A turbine engine can spool up or down independant of "throttle" position, but a recip cannot spool up on its own. Has this "sudden spool-up" of R-22 engines been documented? Or are the events all anecdotal, as in, "Gee, it did it once but we cannot get it to do it again."

Until we have more information about this anomaly, it's impossible to say what happened...or when it happened...or what caused it.

• Like 1

I have no experience in Robinson products, but I have a lot of experience with human products. And in this case...call me skeptical.