Does Vne vary with altitude?

Stumbled upon this question when studying for the ATP written:

RTC 8404 PLT124

How does Vne speed vary with altitude?

A - Varies directly with altitude.

B - Remains the same at all altitudes.

C - Varies inversely with altitude.

I answered C but my ASA prep book says the correct answer is B. Both Robbies and Schweizers have the Vne / Pressure Altitude chart. Error in the prep book?

The answer was c. I took this test a few months ago and I studied with shepard air because of this reason. There were too many wrong/different answers with other programs. I had the asa book and a dauntless app to use while offshore. They often time conflicted with each other. Shepard guarantees to have the correct answers and back that with money back. The made it worth the $ that I was too cheap to pay originally.

As a note on this, when the U2 was flying at very high altitudes, the indicated Vne and stall speed came very close to each other. The pilots only had a very small window of pitch attitude to play with. IIRC, it was less than 5 knots indicated between Vne and stall.

Your absolute Vne is only one number which is the same no matter where you go. For example 102 KIAS in the R22. Maybe this question meant that nothing changes that number. Obviously, other airspeed limits exist at higher altitudes, but the airspeed which you should NEVER exceed is 102.

I think I'm just trying to make sense of the question.

• Like 1

Stumbled upon this question when studying for the ATP written:

RTC 8404 PLT124

How does Vne speed vary with altitude?

A - Varies directly with altitude.

B - Remains the same at all altitudes.

C - Varies inversely with altitude.

I answered C but my ASA prep book says the correct answer is B. Both Robbies and Schweizers have the Vne / Pressure Altitude chart. Error in the prep book?