EMS interview questions

I am new to the civilian helicopter industry after 17 years of Army flying, and have just begun the job search process. Does anyone have a list of good questions to ask an interviewer? I know to avoid questions regarding pay, benefits and vacation time. But I'm sure there are plenty of questions that interviewers like to be asked because they indicate that the interviewee has been doing their homework/research. Anyone able to weigh in on this?

• 4 weeks later...

I know if doesn't answer your question, but I would imagine a 17 year Army pilot who well exceeds the minimums will not need any major interview strategies to get an HEMS job. Just show up, be personable, and let your experience do the talking.

I guess if you want to ask questions, the following wouldn't hurt your chances.

How many flights per month at the base?

Is the base on track to remain profitable and operating in the future?

IFT to scene ratio?

Shift schedule?

I am new to the civilian helicopter industry after 17 years of Army flying, and have just begun the job search process. Does anyone have a list of good questions to ask an interviewer? I know to avoid questions regarding pay, benefits and vacation time. But I'm sure there are plenty of questions that interviewers like to be asked because they indicate that the interviewee has been doing their homework/research. Anyone able to weigh in on this?

Why wouldn't you ask about pay, benefits and vacation time? That is exactly what a job is all about. That's business-like. Aside from that, be professional.

If you know where you want to go, find base(s) in that area and talk/visit.

Try the base map here: http://emsflightcrew.com/