Any truck drivers in here looking to get into helicopters?

I've been driving semi trucks off and on for about 10 years now.

While I've never been concentrated on any, one particular career goal, this pays the bills considering I went into it off a whim.

Any who, flying helicopters is something I became interested in after high school.

Over the years I've looked into the various paths of getting into it which would suit me and I would follow through on.

The army WOFT path seemed nice, but after reading up on the various takes on that, the military lifestyle would ultimately not work well with me.

So that pretty much leaves the private schooling option and we all know the costs of that route.

So I'm wondering, could one obtain a private and then use that to build up time piecemeal?

Or is it necessary to stick with the same school and staff for the hours required for a commercial?

I only ask this because I don't intend on sticking around in the same place for too long.

• Like 1

Best advice I ever got I got right here on this very site and it was - "Pay cash for your Private and reevaluate when you get there" Now I never for a second, in pursuit of that life long dream, would have regretted it in the least bit bad if I achieved my Private and called it quits. Plenty of times along the way I had to think long and hard about if I wanted to do this for a career or not. As NR would say "Its a Jay Oh Bee - JOB" Its one thing to go up on the weekend, 5 kt head wind, puffy white clouds in the sky, green grass below... its quite another to pick up at max gross at high density altitude with a 10 knot gust spread with the only thing below to make an autorotation to is solid blocks of granite and Ponderosa PInes because its your job.