Departments letting aircraft go?

-Local department of 40-50 deputy's has had two OH-58s and pilots for last 10-15 years.

-one deputized pilot just retired and the other civilian (retired cop turned contractor)just retired

-they are hiring four deputies and I'm in the running

-heard a tale that the Sheriff is thinking about not restocking pilots.....

Is that common? It seems like a huge step back to me. The city has 4ish helos and pilots, and the trooper detachment isn't "too" far away, and I know it's expensive.... But is that common to stop programs? They have k9s, tac team, cool trucks, and divers. Seems like they need helicopters to me!

If I make it thought the process, I'll take the regular deputy position in hopes of them utilizing me later. I don't really expect them to give me a "yes" or even a time frame for a "maybe pilot spot" while I'm not even through the academy yet.

Thanks

• 8 months later...

I'm new to this game, but a 50 man department with two helos and pilots? That's a pretty big investment for a small organization, even with surplus aircraft. Surplus aircraft are especially tricky in regards to maintenance--they're cheap to get initially, but come time for new engines or blades....

I had this exact same discussion here not long ago.... Would this agency be in AL by any chance? Did you apply to be a Deputy and then find out about the need for pilots, or are you doing this process hoping they will offer you a pilot spot?

As far as 58s.... free parts of any real value are just about all gone. Unless the agency has a budget to buy parts, it will be interesting for sure on future. The one factor I see with your plan is that you are being hired as a Deputy. The others were hired as pilots weren't they? You said "Deputized Pilot". Was he a pilot they trained to be a deputy, or was he a deputy first? I mention that because if they tap you to be a pilot later, it could involve you giving up your LE position if they choose to use civilian pilots.