Visiting Base / Meeting Warrant Officers

Hello all,

I am in the beginning stages of putting together a WOFT packet. I'm currently a flight test engineer working for an OEM that has been seriously considering the Army for a while now. I have a fixed wing PPL and am working on an instrument rating... flying/aviation has become a big part of my life. That being said, I've felt that something is missing in my life and I think that serving my country (and doing something I love at the same time) would be a great privilege. Took the ASVAB and SIFT a while back and did well. I dont have the greatest GPA (thanks engineering school), however I have a great work history and can put together some solid civilian LORs.

I do not have any family that is prior military nor do I have any experience even being on base. I'd like to do a little networking and meet some Warrant Officers in their natural habitat to get a better feel for Army life. Are base visits something that can be reasonably accommodated? Would any of you that are on base be willing to show a new guy around?

Thanks for any help you can give.

While civilians could get on military bases fairly hassle free in the past, the increased security threat will make it a little more difficult. Don't just try to get onto the base willynilly without someone knowing you are coming.

The best course of action is to get in contact with a warrant beforehand somehow. She/He should contact Security and inform them you are coming. When you arrive at the gate they should have your name and who is sponsoring you on base. You will definitely need some form of ID and have proof of insurance. They will probably ask you what the visit is for and how long you will be, and give you a physical pass. The warrant is responsible for your actions, so be on your best behavior.