15H to flying crew? Is this true?

I'm looking to fly as part of the crew on Blackhawk helicopters only, but not necessarily a pilot at this time (maybe down the road). So, I'm looking to enlist first into a job working on the aircraft.

The only aircraft related vacancy is 15H (Pneudraulics). My recruiter said that since this job encompasses all types of aircraft (to include Chinooks, Blackhawks) it would put me in position apply as a crew member down the road. Is this true or is he just saying this? I know 15T (Blackhawk repairer) is obviously the best to become a door gunner or other flying crew, but I'm wondering if 15H will also position me well enough? Appreciate your insight.

I'm a 15T SSG Technical Inspector and crew chief who was just selected for warrant (153A). I can tell you that 9 times out of 10 you will not crew unless you're needed while deployed, in which case you would be a door gunner, not a actual crew chief. I'd avoid 15H MOS, you're rarely needed and will be tasked out to many dull details.

• Like 1

I'm a 15T SSG Technical Inspector and crew chief who was just selected for warrant (153A). I can tell you that 9 times out of 10 you will not crew unless you're needed while deployed, in which case you would be a door gunner, not a actual crew chief. I'd avoid 15H MOS, you're rarely needed and will be tasked out to many dull details.

I just want to be able to fly on the aircraft -- to me, it doesn't matter which position. Having said that, would pneudralics position me well for door gunner? I'm just trying to gage which aircraft related jobs would give me the best chance to fly on aircraft. Thanks.